Waiting

Time is quick, we savour the kiss. I plead with you, raping the mood.

Come to me
, be what I need, 
clutching the bones 
of old and new.

Fear swells while I pick flowers. Trust strays
 with tentative words. Tense seconds turn in
to tender hours.

The lips are wet, the heart hurts. D
esirous demands 
tear the mind apart. 
I’ll sew it up again.
Come with me, 
let’s make a map
, or I may snap 
like a winter twig
.

Promise you will 
come with me 
before the end of spring. If you can 
learn to love me 
I am offering 
a dream. If you can learn to trust me 
I am offering 
my wings.

The moon 
lights the hidden path 
to a new home. 
I wait to walk it 
with you or alone. 
I wait here for now, hot heart, open mind, 
strong will, green eyes
.

You may not reach me 
when the time comes
. You may not believe me 
when I say I will run.

But the wind waits for no one, 
so I will leave you a way 
to find me by day, 
but by night my sweetheart
, I’ll lay with someone new. The one who claims my love, 
who wants all of me and more than you.

Come with me, 
let’s make a map
, or I may snap
 like a winter twig
.

Just promise 
you will come with me, 
I see the end of spring.
If you can 
learn to love me 
I am offering 
a dream
.

If you can learn to trust me 
I am offering
 my wings.

This entry was posted in LOVE. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

